It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey. Need a good book recommendation? Stop by and see what everybody’s reading! πŸ™‚

The past few days have been bee-u-ti-ful. Temps have gone up and the sun has been shining. I love it! I choose to ignore all weather reports that have to do the s-word in the forecast. In addition to enjoying the nice weather, I started a new job this past week. Now I’m working as full-time librarian doing a little bit of everything. Don’t worry, I’m still interacting with the public a lot and will continue to have great Tales From the Library posts on the wonderful patrons that enter my workplace. πŸ™‚ The tricky part about having a new job is that I have to schedule my time more wisely. This means setting aside a set time every day to write. I think this will work even better for me as I do well when I have a schedule and things tend to get accomplished. As opposed to when I say something like “Oh, I have a whole day off today, I can’t wait to write the whooole day!” and then find that I’ve watched six straight hours of Buffy the Vampire Slayer on DVD and haven’t even looked at my computer. I’ll keep you updated as to how my master scheduling plan goes.

Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdock – I’m listening to this book on CD and am really enjoying it! DJ has done what is expected of her without question her whole life. When she starts to train the football QB from her high-school’s rival football team, everything changes. I love that this is not the typical girl meets boy, girl loves boy, girl makes new relationship seem like that’s all she needed to make her life complete, end scene. For DJ it’s not just about finding a guy, but also about finding herself despite what people tell her she should be or how she should act. I’m already looking forward to grabbing the sequel, The Off Season.

Ex Machina: Term Limits by Brian K. Vaughan – I love graphic novels, especially ones written by Brian K. Vaughan. This is the latest in her series about a superhero who goes from his unconventional beginnings trying to right wrongs using his acquired powers to making a difference through politics as mayor of the city. This takes all the excitement of a great superhero graphic novel and twists around the politics of a modern era. I never know what to expect as Vaughan takes his readers through new doors and new issues with each riveting issue. A must read!

Delirium by Lauren Oliver – I’ve been looking forward to reading this ever since I heard buzz about it over the web. This the first novel in a dystopian series where scientists have eradicated love and you’re given the cure when you turn eighteen. I really liked Oliver’s first novel Before I Fall and am hoping that her second proves just as good.

What have you been reading?

  1. Dairy Queen sounds good.

  2. I loved both Oliver’s book too but Delirium is definitely my favorite enjoy.

  3. I have Dairy Queen on the shelf and I am really looking forward to reading it. As we just got hit with 6 inches of snow last night and dropping temperatures I am trying to not look at your nice weather. πŸ™‚

  4. I didn’t like Before I Fall but my reason is rather dumb. I started getting annoyed with how repeatative the story was (which you know going in). That said, I didn’t have an issue with the writing style and would try another novel by this author. I don’t read much YA so it might be awhile πŸ™‚

    Have a great week!

  5. I’ve got to get to Delirium. We had a few days of unseasonably warm weather and then got 6 inches of snow and ice yesterday. Spring can’t come soon enough.

  6. Dairy Queen sounds good…I’ve been curious about this one.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES post.

  7. I hope you enujoy Delirium. I’ve heard good things about it and I’m considering getting it myself.

  8. I only finished three books because I was working on papers for school. Come see what I’m reading now.

  9. Delirium looks really good. I’ve seen it around quite a bit. Can’t wait to see what you think of it.

  10. First of all, Congratulations on the new job! That’s awesome! Much luck with the whole scheduling thing. I am trying to master this myself, but not doing so well. Hopefully, you are able to inspire me.

    I’ve been doing more listening that reading lately as the schedule is a bit crazy. I just finished up The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall, which was a beautiful and sweet book. That was good since before that was a dark true crime book called Alone by Richard Logan and Tere Fasbender.

  11. I loved Delirium.

    I’m reading Neesha Meminger’s JAZZ IN LOVE.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

