It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is a wonderful meme hosted by the amazing Sheila @ BookJourney. Stop on by and check it out!

I’m one of those people who once I start reading (or listening) to a book I have a hard time not finishing it even if I really don’t like it. However, this past week was one of the few occasions that I did just that. I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that I was listening to the YA book The Marbury Lens by Andrew Smith. I stuck with it as long as I did – a little past midway through the book – because I kept hoping that there would be some kind of resolution or revelation that the protagonist would have that would balance the overwhelming negativity of the plot. While there may be at the end of the book there was just so much despair and repetition of how an earlier event affected the protagonist that I had to give up. Very early in the book the protagonist is kidnapping and molested by a man named Freddy Horvath. The author must have had a bet with his editor over how many times he could use the sentence “Freddy Horvath did something to my brain.” Did he have to keep reminding me that something tragic had happened to his protagonist because he thought it was such a common event that his reader might forget if he didn’t say something about it every other sentence? I get that it was a horrible event, but if the despair isn’t balanced with something redeeming I can’t look forward to the book and have to put it down.

I did finish Blameless by Gail Carriger however and loved it. Read it! πŸ™‚

I have started some other interesting books, that I’m hoping don’t make me utterly depressed:

Bite Me: A Love Story by Christopher Moore – This is the third and final book in Moore Love Story series. Moore has a great sense of humor which makes this the perfect book to listen to on CD. If you haven’t read any of the series, start with Bloodsucking Fiends followed by You Suck. I love authors and subsequently their protagonists that don’t take themselves too seriously. If you love vampires and otherworldly tales as well as satire grab a copy of one of Moore’s many books and enjoy!

The Basic Eight by Daniel Handler – I discovered this book on a display at Barnes & Noble’s and after reading the jacket blurb I knew I had to grab a copy. I may be the last person to read this book as everywhere I turn it seems like someone has something good to say about it. It was written in 1999, along with the first of Handler’s, aka. Lemony Snicket, better know book The Bad Beginning: A Series of Unfortunate Events Book 1. What’s there not to like about a smart and witty protagonist who suffers through her senior year with her seven friends and accusations of being a murderer. But this is completely untrue, she is no murderer, she’s a murderess.

The Soul of Leadership by Deepak Chopra – Chopra’s latest book is all about “unlocking your potential for greatness.” Although I am familiar with Chopra’s philosophies and books, I have never read any of his writings. When I saw this at my library I wanted to see what he had to say on the subject, because really who doesn’t want to know the secrets of greatness? Chopra’s ideology behind this book is that a leader is the “symbolic soul of a group.” He goes into detail defining what a leader looks like and what qualities she should possess in order to become a great leader.

Quite an amalgam of books, but hopefully equally enjoyable! Have a wonderful week!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

  1. I have the opposite problem – if an audio or book are just dragging I have a hard time sticking with them. πŸ™‚

    Your books look good and enjoy them! Thank you for being a part of the Monday meme!

  2. Bite Me is a fun book. I mostly read picture books, manga, short stories and text books last week. Come see what I’m reading now.

    • Glad you liked Bite Me. Glad to see you got some fun reading in with your textbook reading!

  3. I love Carriger’s series and am really anxious for Heartles to be released. I have The Marbury Lens on my TBR shelf and am disappointed to hear you did not like it. Hope you enjoy all your reads this week!

    • I’m looking forward to Heartless to come out as well. Can’t wait to see where Carriger takes her story!

  4. I put down a book a few weeks ago, I’m giving myself permission to do this now… last year I would have forced myself to read to the end.

    I’m reading Wildthorn right now, it’s good. It’s about a girl who ends up in an asylum by accident. I can’t wait to see what happens to her.

    Have a great week!

  5. I love Christopher Moore but I thought that book was hard to listen to on audio. The voice of Abby Normal just drove me crazy. I was so happy when one of the other characters would take over narrating for a while.

    • That is definitely makes a huge difference for as to whether or not I like a book on cd.

  6. Great looking books…hope you enjoy them all.

    Here’s my MONDAY MEMES

  7. What a great mix of books! Happy reading!

    Here’s my Monday!

  8. I have a really difficult time giving up on a book too, I feel obligated to finish them, even if no one but me even cares. Congratulations on getting past that and just giving up on one, I’m jealous!

    Hope you have another great week! Mine can be found at:

    http://www.dorolerium.com/?p=2237

  9. I have BITE ME. I can’t wait to read it. I’ve read two other Moore books and I’m smitten with him.

    I’ve never listened to an audio book. I tried, but can’t get into them. I listened to one once when I was teaching a novel.

    • You’re the second person to say that! Maybe I’ll skip the audio and go straight to the book. Thanks for the heads up, Medeia!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

