Winter Beer

My days of drinking more alcohol than I should are long gone, but my appreciation for good beer continues to grow. After college I moved to Colorado, home of the Rocky Mountains and Coors Brewing Company. Fortunately, it is also home to many other great breweries and that is where I first developed my taste for pretentious beer. I limit my beer consumption to weekends and even then it is a rare occasion when I have more than one an evening so I’m very picky when it comes to my beer selection. Sorry, Bud!

Winter beers are typically darker in color and have a fuller-body than other seasonal beers. Most often you can find winter beers in the Ale category.

There are many winter brews to choose from, but here are a few of my recommendations this season (not including ones I’ve sampled from local, non-distributing breweries). Click on the links below to find out more about each beer:

1. Troegs Mad Elf Ale

2. Great Divide Hibernation Ale

3.Breckenridge Christmas Ale

4. Weyerbacher Winter Ale

5. Hubworks Abominable Winter Ale

My best suggestion to those just beginning to learn more about beers is to check out these great websites: BeerAdvocate and RateBeer.

Also, visit your local brewery and try a sampler of their beers. Don’t be afraid to ask questions, a well-trained staff will be knowledgeable and happy to answer.

Please drink responsibly!

  1. It’s almost tempting enough to head back out into the yucky winter weather in search of winter beer. I think I’ll just have to be content with living vicariously through your blog.

    • It’s definitely not worth braving this weather for! Maybe we can enjoy a winter beer next time we hang out. šŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

