New Year’s Resolutions: Part 1

While I’m a goal setter, I don’t really like the concept of New Year’s Resolutions. It conjures ideas of waiting until tomorrow to start something when really tomorrow never comes thus nullifying these types of resolutions. If you have a goal, start planning on accomplishing it today. Even the smallest of steps to meet your goal is still a step in the direction you would like to be heading. However, since it is the new year I thought it was a perfect idea to talk about setting new goals. 🙂

I think that too often people are waiting for something to reach their goals. I’ll start following my dreams when I: have more money, when my kids are out of the house, after the holidays, after the new year. While chasing dreams and forsaking responsibility isn’t admirable, taking an hour or two to reach your goals is. Maybe it’s early in the morning before work or late at night after the kids are in bed or during your lunch break at work, but set aside a little time just for you and your goals. Don’t be afraid to ask others for help to keep you accountable and to give you time to work toward your goals!

Where there’s a will there’s a way.

One thing my dad said to me when I was younger was that if you really want to do something, you’ll find the time to do it. Just think about how often you find time to read or run or blog. More likely than not, these activities help you to recharge your mind and your body. I’m fortunate enough to have time during the day when no one else is around to work toward my goals. I can run, strength train, walk my dog, write, and read before or after work most days. This wasn’t always the case however. I used to work from 7am-4pm as a teacher. When I wasn’t at school, I was taking care of my dog, going to the gym, working on my Master’s, going to meetings, and serving on an Arts committee for the city I lived in.  Being so busy helped me to understand the importance of time and how to budget my hours to help energize me and meet my goals.

Think about what your goals are. What time can you create to focus on reaching your goals? What is the best environment for you to work on meeting those goals? Set aside the time, put it on your calendar and let others know your need to be uninterrupted during that time!

Stayed tuned for New Year’s Resolutions: Part 2!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

