It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is a fun meme brought to you by your lovely hostess Sheila over at her blog Book Journey. Swing by and check it out!

Despite having to work all day Saturday, I still had a great weekend. I’m a big football fan and enjoyed relaxing and catching up on my magazine reading while watching the games. My Eagles ended the evening with a great victory over the Giants, so I’m one happy camper. 🙂 (Are campers really that happy? Why isn’t it “one happy runner”? I’d rather be running than camping…) I’ve also been reading some great books, which always makes my days a little brighter.

Here’s what I’ve been enjoying:

Virals by Kathy Reichs – Anyone who is a regular visitor to my blog knows that I’m a HUGE Kathy Reichs fan. I think she’s brilliant both for her adult books and her TV series Bones. But, and I’ve seen this before when authors of adult lit, especially crazy brilliant ones like Ms. Reichs, the language is a little on the dull side. I guess I was expecting it to be more like her other novels. I feel like authors who write for adults than make the transition to YA lit don’t really understand that YA lit is really, really smart. And sharp. And involved. And while I think the writing is more suited to maybe a middle grade level, I have been enjoying the story and think it’s a book worth reading.

 

 

Fallen by Lauren Kate – I’m finally, FINALLY, reading Fallen. After hearing mixed reviews since its release, the book on cd came through the circulation desk at the library and I decided it was fate. I just started listening to it and am only at the very beginning, pre-drama. So far I’m enjoying the way Kate has set up the plot and am hoping there are more twists in the story that I won’t see coming.

 

 

 

X-Men: Magneto Testament by Greg Pak & Carmine Di GiandomenicoIf you aren’t familiar with the story of the X-Men or Magneto, here’s what you need to know: the X-Men are humans, mostly, who have a mutant gene that sets them apart from the rest of the world. Led by Professor Xavier, these X-Men live at a school established by Professor X while trying to teach the world that being different isn’t bad. Magneto is their main nemesis, arguing that he must destroy non-mutants because they are too ignorant to understand that differences aren’t to be feared. Thus, the X-Men are continuously trying to prevent him from killing those who hate mutants.

That said, this graphic novel really has nothing to do with any of that, except that it revolves around the back story of Magneto. (Like how I slipped that nerd lesson in there? 🙂 Magneto, Max Eisenhardt, was a German Jew who endured the atrocities of the Holocaust and lived to escape the fate that befell almost everyone he loved. The illustrations and the story in this graphic novel are very powerful. It helps to show readers how much graphic novels of superheroes parallel the real world – in this case the persecution of others because one views them as different. A must read for everyone.

That’s what I’ve been reading this week – what are you reading?

  1. I really loved Virals, but then I teach middle school and I thought the characters and plot was well suited for the grade level. I have never read any of Reich’s adult novels, but do love the show. I have yet to read Fallen and the way my TBR shelf keeps growing I may never get to it.

    Hope you have a great week and a lovely Thanksgiving.

  2. Thanks for visiting this morning! I’m headed to your Turkey Trot post and I also added you to my ‘inspiration’ links. This is my running community…. to keep me inspired to run!

    Have a great day!

  3. I haven’t read anything by Kathy Reichs, nor have I seen Bones. Obviously I need to check these out.

    Hope you have a great week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. Sounds like a great week!

  5. I really need to reread Fallen, I just picked Torment up recently at Costco, but want to read the first book again. Hope you have a great week!

    Mine can be found at:
    http://www.dorolerium.com/?p=1943

  6. I’m glad to see you’re enjoying Fallen so far. I enjoyed it and Torment too 🙂

  7. I’d rather be doing, well, pretty much anything other than camping. No happy camper here 😉

    Good luck with Fallen. I struggled through it, but liked the ending.

  8. Does listening to Mockingjay in my car count? That’s about all the reading that’s on my plate this week.

  9. I haven’t cracked open my copy of Fallen yet.

    I just finished The Replacement and I’m reading Delirium.

  10. I laughed at my nerd lesson there… LOL! You are selling me on Kathy Reichs, this is one I have been considering reading but was unsure.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

