It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Hop on over to Book Journey and visit our wonderful hostess, Sheila, and join in the reading fun!

I don’t know where the weeks are going! One minute I’m writing my blog post for Monday’s readings and the next I’m writing the blog post for this Monday’s readings. Oh boy! I have a funny feeling that the holiday rush is officially here for me and it won’t be letting up any time soon. I’ve already started the lists for gifts I want to get people for Christmas as I hate the feeling of rushing last minute to buy presents. Fortunately, I don’t have as much on my docket as the past few weeks, so I should have the energy to write more than I have been. šŸ™‚ Yay!

This week I just started a great book on CD:

The Mystery of the Third Lucretia by Susan Runholt – I just started listening to this middle grade book about two friends who get involved in the solving of a mysterious art crime. The narrator sounds like someone who would do the voice-over on a TV show about a pretty but snarky and down-to-earth girl, so I was instantly pulled into the story. I’m excited to pick up the next in the series about these crime-solving friends!

 

 

 

Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny – I have been waiting for the next book in the Inspector Gamache series for a long time. I love Louise Penny’s mysteries about the amazing inspector who lives in Canada, loves his wife and remains virtuous throughout all tribulations. Penny is one of those authors where she creates a world so descriptive and vivid that I feel as if I know the characters like family. Readers are introduced to a small town filled with quirky characters that are always involved in the mysteries somehow, although not all the mysteries take place in the town. If you like mysteries or just a wonderfully well-written book, read Louise Penny. Even her name is amazing – Louise Penny. Go on, say it. And, read the series in order (Still Life is #1) as while the mysteries are separate, the characters do build as the series progresses.

 

 

That’s all for me this week. What have you been reading? šŸ™‚

  1. Bury Your Dead looks interesting.

    I’m on an Ellen Hopkins reading marathon. I finished Crank and I’m reading Glass.

  2. I know the feeling… my week looked like that, my Monday posts are the highlight of the week šŸ™‚ Bury Your Dead looks goo d- I hope it is. šŸ™‚

  3. Your mystery reading looks like just the right sort of thing for this time of year. I’m not sure how I’ll make it through tomorrow’s day of driving without an audiobook. In my real book reading I just started Please Ignore Vera Deitz by A.S. King, and am having a hard time putting it down.

  4. Both of these look great! I totally love the cover on Bury Your Dead! Enjoy the reads!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

