It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Ah, Mondays, another day for reading, reviewing and reflecting. 🙂 If you want to join in the fun or just read what other people are reading, stop by Sheila’s website @ BookJourney.

Finished Good Behavior by Nathan Henry this past week. I normally don’t post follow ups to my reviews from the week before, but I found Henry’s book to be very interesting. It’s a YA novel, only a couple hundred pages, and chronicles Henry’s life growing up and subsequently the actions that led to him spending a year in jail. I found it fascinating how Henry was very open as to the conscious decisions he made every day to live a life of violence and anarchy. While most of the book was cringe-worthy, as Henry was blunt in the chronicling of his life, I definitely thought it was worth reading. The only aspect I didn’t like was the ending as while the book jacket and author bio make it seem as if Henry has left his life of violence there weren’t many details as to how or why Henry made that transition. If you read it though, I’d love to hear your thoughts. 🙂

This week:

Hell Week by Rosemary Clement-Moore – This is the second novel based on the adventures of Maggie Quinn and her psychic connections and the more I read the more I love this series! Not only is Clement-Moore’s dialogue interesting, sarcastic and witty, but she presents such a range of characters that are so fully unique in their quirks that I feel I’m leaving friends behind when I have to stop reading. (Don’t judge me, you know there are books like that for you too!) And while the books do have that paranormal undertone, the book is more rooted in the story of Maggie’s life as opposed to letting the otherworldly aspect rule the pages. If you haven’t read her series, start with Prom Dates from Hell, the first in the series, as they do build on one another.

Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl – I just picked up the much awaited sequel to Beautiful Creatures and am already drooling over its pages. Ethan and Lena live in a small southern town where secrets abound. Ethan has been pulled into Lena’s world and together they must face the darkness that looms over them and those they love. I really enjoyed the first in the series and I’m hoping the second won’t disappoint!

Book on cd:

Where Men Win Glory: The Odyssey of Pat Tillman by Jon Krakauer – Krakauer pieces together the story of a man based on talks with family, friends, and journals to paint us a picture of Pat Tillman. Tillman was much disturbed by the events of 9/11 and walked away from a $3.6 million NFL contract to join the Army. After getting killed “in action” the story began to come to light that Tillman was actually killed by friendly fire, then lied to repeatedly by the Army as to the true nature of his suspicious death. I love Krakauer’s works and have read Into Thin Air and Into the Wild, so, since the subject sounded interesting and I am unfamiliar with the details surrounding Tillman’s story, I thought I would pick this novel up as well.

That sums up what I’m reading this week? How about you – what are you reading?

  1. Your book choices look good…I’m not familiar with them, although I’ve heard of Beautiful Darkness.

    Hope you enjoy them.

    Here’s my Monday:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/monday-memes-mailbox-and-what-are-you-reading-oct-18/

  2. Hell Week just sounds like a fun read. I am going to look that one up. 🙂

  3. I’ve been on the road a lot so had the chance to listen to a couple of books on CD: Rash by Pete Hautman and The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. Right now, I’m halfway through Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. It makes me want to drive around more so that I can find out what happens! Oh, I did get a chance to read a couple of “real” books as well: The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi and The Freak Observer by Blythe Woolston. I highly recommend both of them.

    • I’ve been wanting to read The Summer I Turned Pretty – love the title. I just read Search for WondLa and really enjoyed it. Did you try the augmented reading pages? It’s very cool if you haven’t. I’ve never even heard of The Freak Observer or Rash, so I’ll have to check those out. 🙂

  4. Your list sounds great. I have not read these but will be looking into them. I love a good series so I will definitely follow up on this one.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

