It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Jump over and visit Sheila our wonderful hostess @ BookJourney for this weekly meme.

I had a wonderful weekend with my family. Celebrated some birthdays, went apple picking, enjoyed the sunshine and hung out with those I love. My brother, who is two years younger than I am, recently started a writing class through a community course and I was able to catch up with him and hear the lowdown on how his first class went. He has a great idea for a novel, but is finding it hard to start the writing process. I learn a lot by talking to people at different stages of the writing process. There’s always something to be learned from talking to others and it’s great that he has a group he can bounce ideas off of and learn from. Everyone has their own methods as to how they approach writing and sometimes it’s just a matter of finding what method works best for you.

My brother said that his teacher talked about writing without always self-editing. I think that’s a great piece of advice and something that I follow in my own writing. When I first started I was constantly laboring over writing and re-writing sentences rather than moving the story along. Once I realized that I just needed to keep writing and go back to fine tune later, the process became enjoyable and I found myself making more time to write since it was fun. 🙂

Oh, and reading a lot of different kinds of books helps too! Here’s what I’ve been reading this week:

Good Behavior by Nathan L. Henry – I usually try to steer clear of books that have themes of prison or violence, but the thin YA novel caught my eye. It’s Henry’s memoir of his life as a young man and the experiences that led to him spending a year in jail. The fact that it’s a memoir was the breaking point for me. I love memoirs and think that everyone has a unique story to share with the world. And from the onset of the book it’s easy to see how violence begets violence as Henry’s father raised him to fear and hate the world as he did.

 

 

 

Why My Third Husband Will Be A Dog by Lisa Scottoline – Scottoline has a great sense of humor that shine through her insights on life. This book is more anecdotal and the short chapters read very fast. I’m reading this one at night because it gives me good dream juju as opposed to the other memoir I’m reading which I’m certain would give me nightmares if I read it before falling asleep.

 

 

 

 

Homemade edited by staff at Reader’s Digest – As I try to live a healthier and more eco-friendly lifestyle, I like to read what literature I can on the subject to glean good habits and tips. I’m really excited about this book as I want to start making more of the products I use and eat both because it’s better for the environment by cutting down on waste and using less chemicals. This book has everything from cleaning products to beauty aides to food to pet care products. I took this out from the library but I’m probably going to have to buy a copy for myself so I can use it as a reference!

 

 

 

Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins – This was Collins first series before her Hunger Games made epic waves in YA lit. Gregor is eleven and falls down an opening in the back of a dryer in the laundry room after his two-year-old sister falls in. In the Underland there are humans and giant roaches, rats, bats and spiders that they have various complicated relationships with. Gregor just wants to go home to New York City, but when it seems like he might be the answer to an old prophecy things get more complex for him. I’m listening to this book on cd and the narrator is great so I’m really enjoying the book. Collins’ doesn’t disappoint as this book is filled with lots of emotion and action.

 

 

That’s what I’m reading this week – what are you reading?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

  1. “it gives me good dream juju ”

    that is an awesome line… maybe I need to pick this up, because too many Buffy reruns have me chasing monsters in my sleep.

    • Thanks for the compliment! It’s definitely a good habit for my overactive imagination. 🙂

  2. Hi! I’m currently reading The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards. Think I’m a bit of a late-comer on this one (published in 2005), but I love (and write) literary fiction, so this story has really wrapped its arms around me.

    The book I just finished, however, is the winner–The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. Absolutely the best book I’ve read in decades! The story is amazing, no matter how you feel about animals/pets. But if you happen to be a dog lover, keep a box of Kleenex handy from beginning to end. No wonder this remains on the bestseller list and one of Amazon’s top 100. Grab a copy, if you haven’t already.

    All the best,
    Cheri

    • I’ve heard great things about both of those books, but haven’t read either yet. Thanks for the recommendation though. 🙂

  3. How many of those homemade cleaners have you tried? Do they really work as well as the commercial ones?

    • I’ve just tried a glass cleaner so far – a mixture of vinegar and water – and it works just as well. I used to work for a professional cleaner and she swore by it and never used commercial glass cleaner.

  4. Interesting books 🙂 I’m glad that the Gregor book is fun 🙂 I’ve wanted to try the series! Also, I think that’s great advice about writers, better to finish the story, than tune it up 😉 Have a great week!

  5. Good Behavior sounds interesting. I am going to look for that one at my library.

  6. I’m reading Mindi Scott’s Freefall.

    I think I have Gregor the Overlander. I saw it somewhere in my pile(s).

  7. Oh, I absolutely loved and laughed my way through Why My Third Husband Will Be a Dog…Who knew that Scottoline had such a funny bone?

    I’m going to be reading and reviewing another new nonfiction book of hers.

    Here’s my Monday:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2010/10/11/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-oct-11/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

