Vegetarian Autumn Stew

Some of my favorite things about cooler temps are all the wonderful recipes out there for delicious soups and stews. I’m vegetarian because I believe it’s a healthier and more humane way to live, thus I’m constantly on the hunt for tasty recipes that suit both my palate and my diet. One of the tricky things about vegetarian recipes is finding something that is not only healthy but full of flavor. I have tried many dishes that are simply lacking in the taste department, but this recipe is filled with hearty goodness. 🙂

Here is a recipe I just made that is absolutely delicious! I found it through an online search and will definitely be making it a lot this fall/winter. I tweaked the recipe a bit to suit my needs and put those changes in blue. I also made my Homemade Wheat Bread to go along with the meal. It was the perfect rainy fall day food. 🙂

Vegetarian Autumn Stew

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound seitan, chopped (*see note at bottom)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 5 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tomatoes, diced (1 15oz can diced tomatoes, drained)
  • 3 carrots, diced (I added 4 large carrots sliced)
  • 3 potatoes, chopped (red potatoes, cubed)
  • 2 stalks celery, diced (3 stalks, sliced)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp pepper
  • 4 tbsp cornstarch mixed with 4 tbsp water until smooth
  • 1 cup brown rice

Preparation:

Place all the ingredients except rice in a crock pot or slow cooker. Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours. (Or on high for 4-5 hours). Add one cup of rice to mixture 1 hour before it’s set to be finished. Since every cooker is different I would sample a potato (they usually take the longest time to cook) to make sure it’s fully cooked.

Sautee the seitan in a little bit of olive oil first, if you’d like. If you’re pressed for time, you don’t need to, but it will give the seitan a bit of extra flavor if you do.

*Note: Seitan is basically wheat protein that has the consistency of meat. It will absorb the flavor of whatever you cook it with. You can make homemade seitan in the slow cooker or buy it packaged. It’s usually found in the organic refrigerated section of your grocery store.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

