It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? sponsored by Sheila @ Book Journey.  I have a BIG pile of books waiting for me to read them, but I’ve been working through some of them and loving every minute. 🙂

PLUS – Some great new books I’m really looking forward to reading!

Kathy Griffin: Official Book Club Selection – As I’ve mentioned on my book lists before, I’m a big fan of Kathy Griffin. I think she’s hilarious. Some might find her offensive, but I love her sense of humor and her candid look on life. I listened to her book on cd and she read it herself, which made it thoroughly enjoyable.

100 Cupboards by N.D. Wilson – I’m listening to this on cd as well and the narrator is great. Henry the twelve-year-old semi-orphaned boy who goes to live with his aunt, uncle and three cousins, discovers a wall covered with tiny little doors that had been covered with plaster long before. When the plaster crumbles and the cupboards are revealed, a new door of adventure is opened to Henry who until now has only known a mundane life. I really love the way Wilson starts this book – I’m not too far into it yet – and can’t wait to see what happens!

Prom Dates From Hell by Rosemary Clement-Moore – I really, really liked this book. The cover was what first attracted me – let’s be honest, we all judge good books by their covers – and after a few pages I completely got sucked into the wonderful characters of this novel. Maggie is a spunky heroine who has the unwanted gift of “seeing” things. When these things start coming into her world, Maggie is forced to accept her gift and help from a hot and charming college guy to help save her high school from destruction. It’s like the best, most quirky characters from Buffy but without the vampires – just hell demons. I’m already looking forward to reading the rest of the series and the first book of her second series – Splendor Falls.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder by Joanne Fluke – I’m about a third of the way through this mystery and am mildly interested so far. I picked up this book because Fluke’s mystery series is very popular and I love a good mystery series. There’s just something about the writing though that doesn’t sit well with me. I’m not sure what it is, it just doesn’t flow as well as some other mysteries I’ve read. I know writing often improves after the first novel, so I’ll see how the mystery itself ends before I decide whether or not I want to continue with the series. We shall see….

New YA books I’m psyched to read:

Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin – Mystery surrounds the night that Avery Hood’s parents die. Devlin takes her readers through Avery’s grief to put the pieces of what happened together and throws in some romance in the process. (I’m hoping for a good story and crossing my fingers that it doesn’t involve yet another werewolf…sigh.)

Legacies: A Shadow Grail novel by Mercedes Lackey and Rosemary Edghill – I’m a huge fan of Lackey’s other sci-fi/fantasy novels and am super excited for her new YA endeavor. Spirit White is sent to live at a boarding school/orphanage where dark things are lurking endangering the lives of the students who live there. I hope there is enough novelty that having another boarding school setting won’t prove to be mundane. Knowing Lackey’s brilliant writing, I don’t think I’ll be disappointed. 🙂

Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus – I loved the cover to this YA novel too, but what really sold me was the inside blurb. The story is made up of plots so different from a lot of YA novels that seem to be squeezing onto the shelves these days, I was instantly attracted. Manjiro is lost at sea with his friends, stranded on a deserted island, and unable to return to his homeland of Japan. Promises of high sea adventures, history, and inner turmoil and the desire to become someone great make this book seem like an exciting read.

How about you – what have you been reading?

  1. 100 Cupboards sounds great!

  2. good blog.

  3. I am a huge Kathy Griffin fan, so I immediately ran out and bought her book when it came out last year. I was a little disappointed. I thought it would be more like her stand up specials…It was a lot about her childhood etc. I thought the parts about her and her ex-hubby were reallly interesting though! There were a lot of funny parts and laugh out loud moments! enjoy!

  4. 100 Cupboards has piqued my interest…I also like those Joanna Fluke books…delicious covers (lol).

    Here’s my Monday:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2010/09/27/monday-memes-mailbox-and-what-are-you-reading-3/

  5. At first I didn’t like 100 Cupboards. I had to read it for a children’s book club that I moderated and I kept talking about it to my co-workers. Picking it apart and discussing it. Finally, somebody pointed out that I must have liked something about it for it to stay with me that long. I don’t know, even now I still want to argue with it. Maybe I did like it.

  6. I can’t wait to read Low Red Moon! Here’s my loot: Coffee and a Book Chick

  7. All your books sound good! I’m not a huge fan of Kathy Griffin but I do think she’s hilarious.
    Hope you enjoy your reads!
    Natalie :0)
    Thanks for stopping by too.

  8. I’m not familiar with any of those title, but I hope you enjoy them!! Thanks for stopping by the Window Seat Reader earlier. Have a great week.

  9. Really liked Legacies, but like you said she is a great writer. Will have to try Prom Dates. Beware Low Red Moon!!!

  10. Enticing reads. My eye is on Low Red Moon.

  11. Oh my gosh I forgot about 100 Cupboards! There is a sequel too… actually there may be three books now. I have to check that out! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

