Fitness Friday!

I have to say that one of my favorite things about being a runner is getting to eat carbs without feeling guilty. 🙂 It’s important to have a healthy diet to that balances your workouts. You need to find foods that provide elements like vitamins, carbs, healthy fats, and proteins. I’m constantly reading Runner’s World and scouring vegetarian and healthy cookbooks for great recipes and foods that will give me energy and strength I need to be fit. It’s a big topic and one I’ll revisit since there’s just too much info to cram into one blog. And I’m always learning something new that I try to fit into my diet.

Most recently it’s been my desire to move away from processed foods. Not easy. I realize this will be a long road of little changes along the way, but as long as I’m moving in that direction I feel it will lead to healthier eating habits.

I’ve started making little things like granola and protein smoothies and have gradually added more baking to my repertoire, most notably – bread! Mmmm…Homemade bread is perfect for any number of tasty meals – french toast, any number of sandwiches and paninis or just as a side for a steaming bowl of soup, salad or pasta. Yum! My most recent bread was a whole wheat bread, but I’ve made the classic white and a yummy cinnamon raisin.

I’ve included links to my favorite bread recipes below:

Homemade White Bread/Homemade Wheat Bread – I use the same recipe for both and just substitute wheat flour for white flour as it is such a great recipe!

Cinnamon Raisin Bread

I also was reading the October issue of Runner’s World and came across a series of wonderful (and more importantly simple) recipes for homemade pasta sauces and dishes. Click HERE for a link to the article and for a link to the recipes click HERE.

Now all I need is a pasta machine and a bigger kitchen and I’m golden! 🙂

Do you have a favorite healthy homemade recipe?

  1. I also started cooking lately and I agree that it’s really hard to stay away from processed foods when you get used to it. Most of the times I was lazy and doesn’t have control.

    • Natalie – It definitely is hard! Especially if you’re tired. Good luck with your cooking though. 🙂

  2. I don’t think I could invest the time to make my own bread or pasta right now, but those bread recipes are pretty tempting.

    My father whose culinary skills are limited to microwaving a bag of popcorn swears that he is going to start making his own pasta when he retires. I’ll believe it when I see it, but if he does maybe I’ll just have to eat some of his homemade dinners.

    • I’ve heard pasta making takes time although it is always fun when someone else is doing the cooking so maybe you’ll have some good meals to try in the future. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

