It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is sponsored by Sheila @ BookJourney. Stop on by and tell us what you’ve been reading lately. 🙂

I’ve been reading some great books lately. Some continuing like The Yiddish Policeman’s Union by Michael Chabon on cd and others just beginning. I’ve been loving the weather that’s moved into the east coast – cool temps with the sun shining and leaves just beginning to change. My favorite time of year! What makes it even better is having a good book to read while I’m basking in the cool sunny day.

Grave Secrets by Kathy Reichs – I started reading Reichs a few months ago and LOVE, LOVE her novels! They inspired the TV series Bones that I also love, although the novels and the show are nothing alike. One of my favorite aspects of Reichs’ writing is that she is very, very knowledgeable on her subject matter – based on forensic anthropology – as she lives her subject as a forensic anthropologist herself. She gives great details and descriptions without getting too mired down and not moving the plot along. Grave Secrets is the fourth in the series and is just as wonderful as the rest. The kick-ass protagonist, Temperance Brennan, is working on an old case down in Guatemala when a new case pops up that is filled with complex twists that plunks her in the center of danger. A thrilling mystery as always!

Lucy by Laurence Gonzales – I heard about this book a while ago and was caught by the idea of this being the Frankenstein for the modern age. The writing so far has not pulled me in with its abrupt, distant style. Also, THIS ARTICLE from the NY Times hasn’t been a big selling point for the book. With these factors, I haven’t decided whether or not I should finish it, but I wanted to give it a shot.

Much Ado About Nothing by Shakespeare, illustrated by Emma Vieceli – I do love graphic novels and manga (Japanese comics) fall under that as well. This one is part of a series of Manga Shakespeare graphic novels with great illustrations and an adherence to the original Shakespeare play. It’s a wonderful version of the classic tale and is a great help for me to be able to follow along! 🙂 For more in the series click HERE.

I’m heading outside to enjoy the rest of this sunny day and read on my porch. Have a great week! 🙂

  1. Hope you were able to enjoy some of the nice weather! I’m still reading through Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrel. It’s good, but a very long book. I’m also listening to a pretty good YA book on CD: Stolen by Lucy Christopher.

    • I haven’t heard of Stolen before, but if you give it a thumbs up I’ll have to go grab it from the library. 🙂

  2. I’m reading Christopher Meehl’s Suck It Up, Ally Condie’s Matched, among a few other things.

    Have a wonderful week.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

