It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is brought to you by Sheila @ Book Journey. Head on over and join the fun! 🙂

Since my computer has been in the Apple store for most of the week this is the first time I’ve been able to blog since last Monday. Computer seems running fine (knock on wood), which is good since I was going through a bit of blogging withdraw!

I’ve been reading a lot of great, great books this past week, seeing as I had some spare time from not being on the computer. Here’s what I’ve been up to:

i know i am, but what are you? by Samantha Bee – I just started reading this one and so far, so good. Bee is a news correspondent for the Daily Show and takes her wit and sassy ways to novel form. I love reading memoirs of people, especially if they have a convoluted way of looking at life. Bee’s novel looks to follow in this vein and I’m looking forward to reading it.

Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman – I listened to this on cd in about two trips as it’s a very short middle grade novel. Gaiman is the King Midas of the novel world and he is brilliant in whatever he sets his pen to, whether it’s for adults, young adults, graphic novels, or middle grade readers. It’s astounding really. Odd is a little boy who has had a rough life. While in the woods he meets three animals that led him on an adventure that will change his life forever. And while this may not be a complicated plot, the way Gaiman tells a story is so wonderful, that you’ll forget that it’s for middle grade readers and enjoy it thoroughly.

The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon – I’m listening to this book on cd now and really enjoying it. I really appreciate Chabon’s novels. He has an amazing skill with words which inevitably pulls me into whatever book of his I’m reading. If you’ve never read any of Chabon’s works, his memoir is one of my favorites, but you should read his Pulitzer Prize winning tome – The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, if you are going to read any of his books. He has also written Wonder Boys and The Mysteries of Pittsburgh, both of which have been made into movies. This particular book centers around the imaginative world where Jews live in Sitka, Alaska, having had escaped the atrocities of WWII. Chabon is a deft hand in making you understand his characters and this novel is no different. So while there is a mystery in the center of this novel, it’s really the unique characters that make this novel great to listen to.

And of course:

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – One of my favorite parts about the Monday group of bloggers is getting to read reviews about whichever books they decided to read this past week. And last week a lot of blogs I visited were hyped on Mockingjay and its release on Tuesday. I’m assuming many have since read this last installment in Collins’ riveting Hunger Games trilogy and am super excited to read other reviews on it! As for me, I thought it ended the way it was supposed to end. I was satisfied, saddened, thrilled, and ultimately pensive after I finished the last page of the final book. It’s really hard to say anything about what I found to be sad, satisfying and thrilling without giving away key plot points, but I will say that there was so much going on in this book that I felt it could have easily been made into another two or three books with no problem. I understand that Collins stuck to her vision of wrapping it up in the third book, but I felt, well, rushed, even though it was a satisfying ending.

That’s been my week. 🙂 Have you read any good books lately??

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. I am the only NOT reading Mockingjay! I read Still Alice last week — I highly recommend it!

  2. Oh my gosh I was one of those crazy people counting down the seconds to Mockingjay so to say I was more than a little obsessed would be fair. But oh man did I hate it! i felt like she undid all the work in books 1 and 2 of creating a feminist characters girls could be inspired by. Disappointed doesn’t even begin to cover it 😦 Liz

  3. I thought I was so smart – I was at a retreat until Tuesday evening and was planning to read Mockingjay on Wednesday for its release – I had it pre ordered and everything. Then I went on twitter and asked if anyone else had taken Wednesday off of work to read Mockingjay like I had…. only to find out it was released on Tuesday. DOH! 🙂

    I agree with yu – I thought the ending felt rushed.

  4. I keep hearing about the end of Mockingjay–not spoilers, but possible disgruntlement. I need to find out for myself.

  5. I’ve been dealing with some computer issues as well. For me it’s the internet services that is fading in and out. I really enjoyed the Yiddish Policemen’s Union when I read it a couple of years ago. I’m planning on diving into Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell this week, but I am looking forward to reading Mockingjay soon.

  6. I liked the ending of Mockingjay.

  7. It is so frustrating to have computer problems! Hope all is fixed. Yep, I felt the rushed ending and was drained after reading MJ.

  8. I just finished Mockingjay too and felt exactly the same way! Glad you enjoyed it though 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

