It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is sponsored by Sheila over at Book Journey, come join the fun!

I am SO, SO excited! After blood, sweat and tears, I finished the third draft of my novel! Hooray! I’ve sent out my query letters and am working on a synopsis and feel amazing just having a finished product after two years – TWO YEARS! Trying to keep a balance between optimism and realism as I try to land an agent. But, I’ve resolved to keep busy on other projects I’ve been putting off so that I could finish my novel so that I don’t go crazy while waiting for replies. I’ll be sure to keep you posted! 🙂

ALSO, WriteOnCon is finally here! Well, tomorrow is the official start date, and perfect timing as I’ll have the time to participate as much as I want! If you haven’t heard of it, it’s an online conference hosted by some fabulous writers/bloggers and is designed to help book lovers, writers, and aspiring writers to learn, give and get feedback, and dialogue about writing. It’s FREE so there’s no reason you shouldn’t sign up. For more info and the schedule, visit the WriteOnCon website or check out Lisa and Laura Write – one of the awesome and talented sponsors of the conference and published authors of LIAR SOCIETY coming out March 2011.

Here’s what I’m reading this week:

The Coolest Race on Earth by John Hanc – This short book, chronicles the history and anecdotes of the Antarctica marathon. Runners are already known for being a little crazy and this book does nothing to help that image. Sold out years in advance at the price of a few thousand dollars, runners from all over the world trek to the southern-most part of the world to participate (and survive) this marathon. While I’m not quite at that point of being crazy, I love reading about people who are! I’m really enjoying the book so far and even if you aren’t a runner, you can appreciate the lengths someone will go to in order to follow their passion.

Ender’s Exile by Orson Scott Card – I’m listening to this on cd after listening to Ender’s Game, a classic I had been meaning to read for a while. While it was a slow start, I like Ender, the military boy genius, that I can’t help but want to find out what his fate is. While giving you any plot lines in this book may spoil the first one, I would recommend actually reading it rather than listening to it. I feel like some of the intricacies of the characters are overshadowed by bad accents and too many readers.

What are you reading this week?

  1. Congrats on finishing your novel, I hope you get all positive letters back on you queries. I love Ender’s Game but have never read any of the rest of the books in that series. Have a great week.

  2. Congrats on finishing your novel!
    Heather

  3. Wow! How exciting!! Congratulations! I’ve only read Ender’s Game…nothing else by OSC.
    Enjoy your week!
    Here is my Monday review:
    http://www.gerberadaisydiaries.com/2010/08/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_08.html

  4. First off, Congratulations on finishing the novel and good luck with the querying process!

    I read Ender’s game years ago, and a couple of the sequels. Though as i recall none of the sequels were quite as good as the original.

    This week I’m reading a book you recommended, Soulless by Gail Carriger and loving it!

  5. Congrats on finishing your novel.

    I’m psyched about WriteOnCon.

  6. If you get inspired by the idea of snowy racing, check out this blog – http://www.arctic-mummy.co.uk. She’s training for an Arctic race next March.

  7. Yay for your third draft – how exciting! 😀 Enjoy your week!

  8. We found this late, but wanted to thank you for the shout out! Hope you found WriteOnCon successful and good luck querying!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

