It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Sheila @ Book Journey has given us all a reason to love Mondays. She hosts the weekly meme of It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? It gives me a chance to let you know what’s new on my nightstand as well as get great reviews from my fellow bloggers and add to my ever-growing TBR pile. Excellent!

I’m still listening my way through The Help and loving every minute! For my review on the book click HERE.

I’m reading:

Changeless by Gail Carriger – I really loved Carriger’s first novel in the Parasol Protectorate series, Soulless. Alexia is a witty woman who always finds herself in the midst of danger. Fortunately she kicks butt and is not only able to free herself from said situations but rescue her friends and save English society while she does it. Carriger’s books mark a growing number of steampunk books being published as well as an increased fan base for the genre. To read more about steampunk click HERE.

My friend and author Alissa Grosso recommended Larklight as another great read in the steampunk genre and I’m excited to read that next.

TBR:

Larklight by Philip Reeve

Just finished:

Moon Called (The First Mercy Thompson novel) by Patricia Briggs – This novel falls into the Urban Fantasy genre where vampires and shapeshifters and werewolves and fae all live together in a modern society. Mercy is an auto mechanic with a special gift of her own and a kick butt attitude. Fortunately her martial arts training backs up her attitude as she finds herself fighting her way out of precarious situations. I love books with strong female characters and Briggs’ novels showcase these women perfectly. Briggs writes fantasy and paranormal romance as well, so I’m looking forward to checking out her other novels too!

That’s my list – What are you reading this week?


Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Thanks for the shout out, and I really have to look for those Gail Carriger books. They sound good!

  2. Oo. Larklight looks GOOD! I hope you have a great reading week!

  3. Stopping by from It’s Monday, What are you Reading? meme. I noticed that you’re a runner (blog title, duh) and wanted to know if you ever read Mari’s blog called Bookworm With a View. She’s a runner and reader too. Just curious!

    Bookworm with a View

    And here’s my week(s) of reading. It’s been a few weeks since I participated.

    Lynne’s Book Reviews

    Have a great week.

  4. I’m adding Larklight on my list! Happy reading!

  5. So funny I was reading your post and thinking Changeless sounded good but was wondering what Steampunk was…. then you linked to it! So sweet! 😀

    Great looking reads and have a fantastic week!

  6. The Parasol Protectorate series is one I’ve recently added to my wishlist. I really want to find and read it soon. Glad to hear you loved it.

  7. I really liked Moon Called and Changeless (well up until the last chapter). It’s not bad, not by a long shot. It’s just that book 3 doesn’t come out until September.

  8. I’ve been hearing about Moon Called quite a bit. Glad to hear you enjoyed it 🙂

  9. I haven’t read any steampunk yet but it sounds interesting. I’m going to have to check it out.

  10. Changeless has a great cover, I hope you’re enjoying it! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

