It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

As always, this post is hosted by Sheila over at BookJourney. Hop on by and check it out!

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – I’ve read a number of rave reviews on Nelson’s first novel, so I decided to check it out for myself. Although I’m only a third of the way through, it’s a good read so far. Nelson has a eloquence with words as well as capturing the unique quirks of her characters. Because of this readers are pulled into the awkward, consuming grief of Lennie as she tries to make sense of the sudden death of her older sister Bailey. (This is the premise of the book so don’t worry it doesn’t spoil anything.) I like that while the book revolves around the grief of its characters, it also focuses on finding the small joys of life. And I have to say that the cover is one of my favorite YA covers I’ve ever seen and so different from many of the overly-romanticized covers that are prevalent today.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett – I put off reading The Help because I am not a fan of reading something that EVERYONE just absolutely LOVED. I feel like a sheep jumping onto the bandwagon just because everyone else is doing it (too many adages? not enough?). Regardless, I picked up the book on cd just to see (or rather hear) what all the fuss was about. And I am SO glad that I did. The narrators are absolutely brilliant and the story is so well-woven, the dialogue and descriptions are so descriptively written that it’s delicious to listen to. Set in Jackson, Mississippi, in 1962, three main characters take turns telling the story of their interwoven lives during a time when blacks and whites were segregated. The story is told with so much emotion and seeming authenticity (I only say seeming as I have not done the research that Stockett must have done and thus I have no idea what actually happened in the south in the sixties) that a cacophony of emotions assails me every time I listen to the book. If only I didn’t reach my destinations so soon!

What are you reading this week?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. I’ve put this off to this point, and it seems as if I need to jump on in! I have it to read on my Nook, and I have to say, it is a bit hard to get into. I think if I were listening on audio I might have an easier time. Glad you enjoyed it so!

  2. I adored The Help. Have a great week reading and if you get a chance, my Monday is here: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-3.html

  3. I would never pick up The Help based on the cover! However a good friend just gave it a great review, so I am going to check it out! Now the question is: book or book on CD???
    Heather

  4. I am the same way you are. I avoid reading a book when everyone else loves it. Perhaps it’s because I have been disappointed in the past. In fact, I just had someone going on and on about how wonderful The Help was and thinking to myself I probably wouldn’t bother reading it, but your review convinced me that I need to at least give it a try. I’ve put off The Sky is Everywhere for the same reason.

  5. I have decided to pick up “The Help” from my local library, as I’m still on the fence about whether or not I really want to read it. I’m hoping that I will enjoy it.

    My Monday: http://jewelknits.blogspot.com/2010/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-july-12.html

  6. Ahhhh…. The Help. Good memories – I hope you really enjoy it 🙂

  7. You are right about the cover to the Sky is Everywhere. I haven’t seen that one before. May have to check it out.

  8. I love the cover of The Sky is Everywhere. I bought the UK edition, but I’m planning on buying the copy you posted up, as well. I loved both so much and I’m kind of undecided on which I like better. I keep changing my mind, so my soul will not rest until I have both of them with me. 😛

    I too don’t like joining the others by doing/reading something everyone else is doing, but “The Help” just sounds so interesting, so…it’s on my TBR.

  9. I too love the cover for The Sky is Everywhere, it’s on my TBR pile, and I’m glad to hear you’re liking it.

    And like you, I was reluctant to read The Help. My book club picked it, and I’m really glad I was forced to read it, because I actually liked it quite a bit 🙂 I would probably say it’s one of the best books I’ve read this year!

  1. July 19th, 2010

Leave a Reply

