My Epic Journey

It’s finally here! My epic journey begins tomorrow morning at 5:30am! Inspired by my grandma Louise to embark on a quest to reach all 50 states, I am – if all goes according to plan – finishing my goal by this Saturday. Woohoo! 🙂

I turn 31 on July 10 and wanted to accomplish my quest while I was still 30. I’ve been knocking off the states for years now starting with my family trips to Vermont when I was just a wee babe. I’ve flown, rafted, biked, cruised, climbed, hiked, run, skydived, heliocoptered, and driven by cab, bus, car, train while visiting these great states of America.

And it all culminates into this final journey.

Tomorrow morning (after a mandatory stop at Starbucks) I’ll be driving to the first of my final two – Kentucky. It clocks in on AAA TripTik (a great road trip planning site and iphone app) at 9 hours and 52 minutes. I’m figured with gas and potty breaks it’ll be around 11 hours – ie. The Longest I’ve Ever Driven By Myself. Sweet.

Fear not though, because Day 2 I drive to Nashville to pick up my mom (the aforementioned grandma’s eldest daughter) to finish the last two days of my journey with me. We then head to Memphis for the evening, then it’s Day 3. We zip over the border between the great states of Tennessee and Arkansas and TADA! I’ve hit all 50 states! After I make my mom take epic photos of me smiling on the side of the road in who-knows-what-town, Arkansas, so I am able to pass on these cherished memories to my grandchildren in the hopes that they will one day emulate me, thus continuing the tradition, we head on our merry way to Roanoke.

The cool thing is that when I mentioned my plans to my mom, she said, Oh, your grandma went to school right around there. WHAT??!! What better way to end my epic journey and homage to one of the most influential women in my life than by visiting the school she attended for college. Double sweet. It’s my goal to learn more about my grandma through doing this or at the very least walk in her footsteps. (My mom told me that she was one of the few women who attended school during that time – WWII – and her family saved up their war vouchers – I think that’s what they were called –  just so they would have enough gas to drive her down to school in the fall. It makes me that much more appreciative of being able to jump in my car at a moment’s notice and drive anywhere let alone an EPIC ROAD TRIP.)  I am very, very pumped about this as it marks the perfect ending to a perfect trip.

I believe that everyone should have at least one EPIC JOURNEY in their lifetime. Something that you can plan for and feel alive doing it. Something you can look back on without regret. A  journey that you’ve always dreamed of and weren’t afraid to finish.

What’s your EPIC JOURNEY?

  1. How exciting! I still have 9 states to go.

    Every day seems like an epic journey, doesn’t it? My husband and I traveling to Peru and the Galapagos this fall. I’ve wanted to go there for years and years. It will be a big milestone for me.

    Safe travels! Drive safely. Can’t wait for details and pictures upon your return.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

