It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey. Check out her blog and join in the fun! ­čÖé

I’ve been crazy busy working on getting a final draft of my novel finished. Yikes! It’s a tricky stage for me as it’s my first book and I’m still figuring out exactly what a finished draft looks like! Of course I haven’t been too busy for reading – here’s what I’ve been up to.

┬áHeist Society by Ally Carter – Centered around a teenaged girl who grew up in a family of art thieves, Heist Society is a fast and enjoyable read. While it was entertaining, it was a pretty standard plot (think Ocean’s Eleven) that didn’t fully grip me in webs of intrigue. Carter has written a number of other popular books (I believe this is her fourth) that seem to center around a similar theme of the lives of covert teens. It seemed at times that this was another book in a series because I felt like I should have been privy to more info in the protagonist’s life, but wasn’t. I have to say that this was a book written for teen girls, who would probably appreciate it a lot more than I did.

┬áDresden Files: Storm Front, Book #1 by Jim Butcher – I’ve heard great compliments regarding Butcher’s Dresden series and the ScyFy TV series that it spawned. I’m almost finished with the first novel and am enjoying it very much. Dresden is a wizard who has set up his own PI business and also free-lances as a police consultant. There’s just enough fantastical oddities rooted in the everyday that make the book a fun reading adventure. I also appreciate Dresden’s character as he has very human (as he is one) character flaws but he’s very good at being a wizard, so you can’t help but cheer for him as he defeats those evil powers that want to reign free. I’d definitely recommend it and am looking forward to reading the second in the series!
┬á52: Volume One by Geoff Johns – I had heard about 52 a few years ago when it was still being published as serials and not into a collective volume. I stumbled across a copy in the library and was excited to finally get a chance to read it. (Side note: Serials are comics published at intervals, usually monthly, that are, dependent on their popularity, often re-published into┬ácompilations. Since graphic novels are hugely expensive, I normally wait until the volumes come into the library as the library’s I’ve been a part of don’t get comic subscriptions.) 52 is about a time in the future where the classic superheroes are not what they once were having been through too many┬ácatastrophes. I’m only at the beginning, but the plot is already interesting with lots of twists and characters. The illustrations are lushly colored drawings and make reading that much more enjoyable. ­čÖé

What are you reading this week??

  1. Just started “Dear American Airlines” by, Jonathan Miles which is already proving to be very funny. Then on to “Hunger Games” courtesy of my daughter. Best~

  2. “Dresden Files” sounds like something I definitely need to read. Good luck with your novel – I think it would be almost like giving birth … only a little less blood on the floor!

  3. Heist Society is one I really want to read. I think it is on my shelf somewhere…

    Have a super week!

  4. Congratulations on getting close to a final draft!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

