Tasty Treat on a Hot Summer’s Day

I’m a BIG fan of an icy cold smoothie on a hot summer’s day. As you know, I love to be active as often as possible and wanted a smoothie recipe that would be filling, tasty and be a perfect post-workout snack.

Here’s the recipe I’ve concocted, enjoy!

1/2 frozen banana (I freeze these myself so I always have them on hand)

1/4 c frozen strawberries

1/4 c frozen blueberries

1 tsp flax seeds

1 scoop protein powder (I use Trader Joe’s vanilla soy protein powder)

1/2 c vanilla soy milk

Throw in a blender, blend until smooth.

Flax seeds are rich in omega-3 which has been shown to prevent heart disease and have anti-inflammatory benefits.

Soy is high in protein, which helps to rebuild muscle fibers, and contains isoflavones which are linked to the prevention of heart disease, cancers, and osteoporosis.

  1. Hello — I popped over to tell you that I’ve added you to my first ever Blog Hop/ Bodacious Bloggers post. (for your love of Ex Machina)

Leave a Reply

