It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Phew! Finished a great weekend with my Bloggiesta festivities and am ready for a new exciting week! It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by the incredible Sheila over at Book Journey – come join in the fun!

I have a whole plethora of great books waiting to be read as well as a slew of brilliant graphic novels. (If you want to read more about my infatuation with graphic novels click HERE.) Funness galore!

Here’s what’s on my reading plate this week:

Blockade Billy by Stephen King – I like Stephen King. I really do. But I rarely read his works, unless you count the witty column he guest writes for Entertainment Weekly. Why not? Mainly because I like to read before I fall asleep. And if I read his novels as I do so, I always have nightmares. I could read two novels at the same time and save his for my daylight hour readings, but I know myself too well. Inevitably I will become so engrossed in his well-crafted tale of horror and suspense that I will HAVE to read it before I fall asleep despite the fact that I know this will give me nightmares. Sad on so many levels, I know. However, that said, I picked up this book because it’s 1. A novella and I can finish it in a day and read something light and fluffy before bed and 2. It seems different from his more horrific novels. The novella is written as an interview between Mr. King and a third-base coach for Blockade Billy back in the heyday of baseball. I haven’t finished (and as daylight wanes I better get on that!), but B.B. is infamous for some reason yet unknown but one of the best players ever to have played the game. That hook alone was enough for me to grab this book and face Mr. King’s brilliant writing once more.

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray – This trilogy came before Ms. Bray’s Printz Award winning Going Bovine, but was highly acclaimed as well. My friend Alissa recommended this series to me especially since she knew how much I appreciated Going Bovine. I have just begun this book, the first in the series, but am already sucked into Bray’s amazing gift of storytelling. Because of a freak accident (or was it…?), Gemma is sent to London, away from her home in India, to go to Spence’s a boarding school for young ladies. There are mysteries abundant surrounding Gemma, her mother, and the accident that happened in India, that it’s difficult to stop driving (I’m listening to it on cd). The narrator is AMAZING so I don’t mind as much having to leave the story until my next errand or work day. I can’t wait to find out what happens!

Ex Machina by Brian K. Vaughn – As always, I have to be reading at least one graphic novel to round out my weekly reading trilogy. ๐Ÿ™‚ Brian K. Vaughn is one (if not THE, but I hate to hurt anyone’s feelings) of my absolute, all-time favorite graphic novel writers. I try to find everything he’s ever written in the graphic novel kingdom because he has such a creative mind and unique perspective on the world that it makes me view life in whole new ways. Ex Machina is about Mitchell Hundred an average guy who became a superhero after an accident left him able to speak to machine. He turns in his superhero suit for a different kind of suit as newly elected mayor of NYC. Ex Machina takes the thrills of classic superhero comics and integrates those nuances into the realm of everyday politics. One of the reasons I love Vaughn’s works is that he has the gift of being able to build many complex layers so seamlessly that I’m constantly being surprised while I’m reading. Yet another wonderful way graphic novels is able to capture the complexities of life under the guise of gorgeous illustrations and glossy pages.

Have a wonderful week! Can’t wait to see what you’re reading this week!

  1. thanks for stopping by my blog!

    you have some really great books. a great and terrible beauty looks very interesting. i’m looking forward to your review of that book.

    • alissagrosso
    • June 14th, 2010

    I think I need to look for some of Brian K. Vaughn’s graphic novels.

  2. I loved, loved, loved A Great and Terrible Beauty. I loved the whole trilogy. The writing is so sublime, it just whisks you away to this completely different world.
    I think I would have liked Going Bovine a lot more if I had just pretended that it was written by a different author. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Glad you liked the series, I’m excited about it as well. And, you’re right, Going Bovine did seem like a different author because it deviated so far from the Gemma Doyle series. Interesting versatility for an author though!

  3. I like Ex Machina so much I get the single issues every month. Enjoy your week.

    • Now that is a fan! Have you read Y: The Last Man? If you like Vaughn’s works, you’d love that series – it’s one of the best I’ve ever read!

      • I’ve read the first couple trades of Y, but honestly I prefer Ex Machina.

    • teadevotee
    • June 15th, 2010

    My housemate works for vogue and once a month she brings home a stack of magazines – so I’m going to be reading vogue, glamour, easy living, wired and GQ ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Oh, and ‘The Years’ just in case my brain rots.
    Have a great week!

  4. I either totally love or totally hate Stephen King books. I don’t read them as much anymore since I never know which way it is going to go.

    • I just finished Blockade Billy and it was okay. If you’re on the fence, I wouldn’t pick it up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

