TV, Books and Movies, oh my!

I received some comments from my last BLOG POST in response to my discovery of Kathy Reichs and her amazing mystery series. Her novels center around Temperance Brennan, a forensic anthropologist, and are wonderful! The TV show Bones is based on these books (although I think they resemble more of Reichs than they do her novels as she too is a forensic anthropologist). I love, love the show and although I’m hesitant to mesh books with the TV shows or movies they spawned I decided to pick up Reichs series. I’m so glad I did as the books are wonderful and Reichs is an amazing writer. The books, however, do not mirror the TV show or vice versa and if I were looking for an exact replica of my favorite cast of fictional TV characters I would have been disappointed. I’m thrilled that both the books and the show are so riveting and similar but different that I am able to enjoy the world of Reich twice!

And I started wondering, have you ever read a book and loved the TV show or movie it was based on just as much? Or did you feel let down? Have you ever seen a TV show or movie first and then read the book it was based on? Did alter your opinion of either?

I’d love to hear your thoughts!

    • Tori
    • June 9th, 2010

    I read My Name is Asher Lev before seeing the play. AND I love, loved both 🙂

    • I have to agree, both were amazing! The play definitely exceeded my expectations – high already since that’s my all time favorite book. 🙂

    • alissagrosso
    • June 9th, 2010

    The Outsiders. Years ago I watched the movie. Then read the book, and still bawled my eyes out even though I knew the story.

    • I’ve never seen the movie but did read the book and loved it!

  1. I LOVE this question. My favorite book to movie was Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry. It is this sweeping western which is not normally my bag. But I fell in love with Augustus McCrae and Woodrow Call. It was actually the first book I remember having to put down because I was crying so hard. Since I loved the book so much I was really afraid to watch the miniseries. But it was amazing. One of the best I’ve ever seen.

    On the other hand, one of the worst book to film adaptations ever was The Fountainhead. The casting alone made me batty.

    Apparently they are going to begin casting “Looking for Alaska” soon. If they cast Kristin Stewart I will have to kill myself.

  2. Liz, I thought Lonesome Dove was an excellent (albeit sad) miniseries. I actually own the collection! I’ve never read the book, although I have read McMurtry before and really enjoy his writing even though he’s not my usual genre.

    And I really liked Looking for Alaska and think that Stewart has the acting ability of a rock (so I guess she was perfect for Bella!), so I second you’re opinion. It really can make or break a good book adaptation!

  3. usually which ever one i read/see first is the one i prefer. and usually even though i expect to dislike the movie if i already read the book or the book if i already saw the movie, i’m always still morbidly curious to see what the other is like so i watch/read it even though i know i probably won’t like it (which probably biases my opinion before i even start)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

