It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is brought to you by Sheila. Check out her blog and join the fun over at Book Journey!

Hope everyone had a fun weekend. I spent mine visiting my family in Pennsylvania and checking out the Devon Horse Show. I don’t really know too much about the world of horses and all the events that go along with riding, so it was really interesting to go for the first time and learn more about the sport.

As always I’ve been reading like a fiend! 🙂 Spent a lazy Sunday reading on my porch – my favorite warm weather pastime.

Here are the books I’ve been enjoying:

Deadly Decisions by Kathy Reichs – I just started reading Kathy Reichs books. I see them getting checked out all the time at the library and knew that they were the inspiration behind one my favorite TV shows Bones. While I haven’t found many similarities between the two, Reichs’ novels are so well researched and written that it doesn’t matter. This novel is the third in the series surrounding Dr. Temperance Brennan, a forensic anthropologist who spends half her time in her home of North Carolina and then other half working in Quebec in conjunction with the police there. As a forensic anthropologist, Reichs is well versed in the jargon of what her protagonist does, but writes in such a descriptive way that complicated processes aren’t lost on her readers. Intricately scripted plots and suspenseful action make every book I’ve read in the series so far an engrossing and enjoyable read!

Boneyard by Richard Moore – This is my latest find in the wonderful world of graphic novels. Boneyard follows the story of a young man who inherits a graveyard (aka. Boneyard) from his uncle. Filled with an eccentric group of creatures both dead and undead, the man becomes involved in the drama that surrounds his inheritance. The town wants the boneyard and all its inhabitants destroyed and those who call the boneyard home want to live in peace. Although I haven’t finished yet, the story has already pulled me in and the illustrations are wonderful! This is the first volume in a series of six so far.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – A few months ago I had the pleasure of meeting Jay Asher at a book reading/signing he was doing at my local Borders. Asher was personable and took the time to answer questions and talk to those who came. It was a great time and I was able to obtain a signed copy of this book. Unfortunately, it has taken me until now to read (actually I’m listening to it on cd). One of the reasons it’s taken me so long, especially since I’ve had a copy for a while and the book has been highly praised by many, is the subject matter. The protagonist, Clay, receives a series of tapes in the mail from Hannah, a girl from his high school. The odd thing is that Hannah recently committed suicide and has sent the tapes to everyone who played a part in her decision to take her own life. While the book is sad I think it is a must read for parents and students alike as it deals with how our choices affect those around us even when we think our actions are harmless. It’s about being accountable and socially conscious and speaking up against actions we see as hurtful to others instead of standing idly by. The two readers on the cd are excellent as well, making the story come to life. So while it’s not the happiest book to listen to on my daily drives, it is powerful material that resonates loudly.

Up next:

I love to hear your comments – hope you have a wonderful week! 🙂

  1. Thirteen Reasons Why sounds very interesting.

  2. I haven’t heard of any of these. Oh actually I have heard of 13 Reasons.

    Here is mine

  3. It’s funny… I acn’t remember which way around it was, but I love to watch Bones and at some point (either before or after the series started) I bought my friend Lisa a couple of Kathy Reich books… It wasn’t until I was raving on about Bones (TV series) to my friend that she pointed out that I was the one who’d bought her the books!

    If I watch a TV series or film, then I don’t usually read the book/s and vise-versa, although I must admit that I did watch the Dresden Files TV series even though I read the books.

    • That is too funny! I’m like that too – I typically don’t like both a book and tv series (I love True Blood but can’t get into the books!) but Reichs is one of the exceptions. And ironically I just brought home the first book in the Dresden series today! 🙂

  4. I’ve heard really great things about The Reckoning, so I hope you enjoy it. I love that you got to meet Jay Asher, would love to read 13 Reasons Why at some point.

    Have a fantastic reading week and if you get a chance, stop by: Monday Reading’s at There’s A Book

  5. Too funny, I sort of stalked Jay Asher after reading 13 Reasons. He lives in the area, so it wasn’t hard to find him. He was gracious and I bought him a latte.

    I agree with you, it is hard to see the similarities with Kathy Reichs books and Bones, but I still love both!

    • Haha! I don’t know if that’s creepy or incredibly cool. 🙂 Hmmm… Just joking that’s really cool that you had a latte with him!

  6. Loved Thirteen Reasons Why. I wondered, though, how she strung all the slights together and passed so much blame around.

  7. I loved Thirteen reasons Why. What a powerful book.

  8. I had similar thoughts about Thirteen Reasons Why, and I definitely think it’s an important book for everyone to read. If you’re interested, my review for it is here:

    http://www.dorolerium.com/?p=1130

    I also didn’t realize the Bones series was based on books! I’ll have to look into those!

  9. I thought Thirteen Reasons Why was sheer genius. I actually advocated for it to be included on the high school summer reading list because it works on so many levels. Really enjoyed Boneyard too. I’m getting ready to read….wait for it…AN ADULT BOOK! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

