It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is hosted by the fabulous Sheila over at Book Journey – stop by and participate in a great meme!

I’ve been reading a lot of really great books recently. It’s so nice to grab my coffee and relax on the porch with a good book. Here are a couple of my latest reads:

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery – If you are going to read one book outside your normal reading list this summer, make sure it’s this one. Barbery introduces her readers to a series of people who live under the same roof in a series of exclusive Parisian apartments. She manages to convey all the intricacies of human life while they move through lives of blissful self-importance or philosophical turmoils of self-reflection. The cast of characters range from a young girl who is intelligent beyond her years to the concierge who hides who she is to maintain an illusion to the caring man from Japan who unites them all. I thought this book was brilliant and it resonated with me long after I read the last sentence.

The Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffin – I’m a big fan of Giffin’s works and have read all of her previous books. I think that she has a great voice as a writer and is able to portray women and the various lives they lead with an adroit pen. If you haven’t read any of her books, I recommend reading them all, but her latest is a a stand alone book. The Heart of the Matter focuses on two women and how their lives intersect when the husband of one becomes interested in the other. While I’m not a fan of reading books where the subject revolves around infidelity, I think that Giffin does a good job of showing how a marriage can disintegrate to that point. The main problem I had with Giffin’s novel is that it was too cut and dry. Yes, she depicted a insider’s look at how things got to that point in each of the central characters lives, but I felt like in the ending was too simple and that nothing was ultimately resolved. And maybe that’s the point, but it left me frustrated and dissatisfied, although the first two thirds of the book were well written.

  1. The Heart of the Matter sounds good – hope it is! And yoy are in France! How awesome is that!!!! Have fun and take lots of pics 🙂

  2. I wasn’t able to get into The Elegance of the Hedgehog, and ended up giving up on it. I might have to give it another try. It’s possible I tried reading it when there were other books calling me and was too distracted.

  3. Thanks, Sheila! And, yes, Elegance is difficult to get into, but well worth sticking it out. 🙂

  4. I’ve been curious about Elegance of the Hedgehog for awhile, I’m glad to see it getting another high recommendation 🙂

  5. I’ve liked several of Emily Giffin’s books. I’ll have to check this one out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

