It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Sheila over at Book Journey hosts this wonderful meme, check it out!

The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone – If you have ever thought about having healthier eating habits that have a positive effect on both you and your environment, this is a great book to check out. It is definitely on the extreme end of diets (and by diets I mean the way you eat on a regular basis), but worth looking into. Silverstone has done her research and backs up her opinions with statistics she has uncovered. She makes some good arguments for eating local, fresh, organic, non-meat, non-dairy products. Which is all well and good for those who live in a locale that caters to farmers markets and has an ideal year-round growing season like sunny California. It’s also easier when you have money and time to spend on shopping and preparing fresh meals. I think there is a balance to be found between the severity of Silverstone’s stance and building a healthy diet that is based on choosing organic foods that are environmentally low-impact and more humane to animals. I think that this book is a great read for someone who wants to know more about healthy eating habits and is interested in learning more about the subject.

House Rules by Jodi Picoult – I really enjoyed this book. Picoult always pinpoints hot topics and pushes them to the forefront of her readers awareness. Her novel looks at an eighteen year old boy with Asperger’s and the family that has to deal with the symptoms of autism every day. As many of Picoult’s novels, its informative as well as an interesting read. I wish that it had a longer ending with a greater resolution, instead of the too perfect ending it had, but I still thoroughly enjoyed the novel.

Balancing Acts by Zoe Fishman – I first heard about this book from a review posted by Sheila at Book Journey. This book came at a great time for me. I had been reading a lot of heavy books with dark topics and this was the perfect antidote. Light and fluffy to the nth degree, this book is rooted in enlightenment and empowerment through yoga. Even wanting a book that was rooted in happiness, the characters and the dialogue swam in their own perfect self-realization beyond any realistic dialogue or scenarios. I still enjoyed it because, like I said, it was exactly what I needed a book to be.

Kick Ass by Mark Millar and John Romita Jr. – Warning! The link I posted here will connect you to the trailer of the movie based on this graphic novel. While the trailer is not as violent as the movie (from what I’ve heard, I haven’t seen it yet) or the graphic novel, if you don’t like gratuitous violence or cursing, then this link/movie/graphic novel is not for you!

The story line of the GN and the movie it spawned focuses on a nerdy teenager who decides it’s time for average joes such as himself to don the garb of a superhero and, well, kick some lowlife butt. Social networking has made this wannabe “hero” an overnight sensation and he attracts the attention of another superhero pair – Big Daddy and Hit Girl. The three of them carve a bloody path through the mafia, making the world a safer place for all. Expletives abound and the “superheroes” are not entirely super or heroes, looking out for their own gory gratification rather than a moral higher ground.

The premise of seeing what would happen when average guys (and girls) don a cape without any particular powers or particular moral integrity made for an interesting story, if not a gruesome one. I recommend it just for its uniqueness, brilliant illustrations and twisted plot. But, it is VERY violent and uses a lot of profanity, so be warned!

  1. Wow – great books. The diet book looks interesting. I would have a hard time with no meat (not so much the diary) -but it sounds like a great idea. Kind of similar to Barbara Kingsolver’s “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle”.

    Have a great week!

  2. That diet book does look interesting…I LOVED House Rules.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  3. I am hoping to read House Rules soon. A friend has promised to lend it to me when she has finished. I am glad you liked it. I have read both good and not so great reviews, but it sound great and I love Picoult’s writing. Have great week.

  4. The Alicia Silverstone book sounds good. I am listening to House Rules on audio and loving it!

  5. I didn’t know that Kick-Ass is based on a graphic novel! I wasn’t really planning to see it, although I’ve seen the trailer, but now I will 🙂 Happy reading!

  6. I’ve heard great things about House Rules, so I’m looking forward to your review!

    You just got yourself a new follower.

    And word on the street is, you won a giveaway on my blog. Will post about it tomorrow.

  7. I love Jodi Picoult and am looking forward to reading House Rules. Have a great reading week!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

