What Am I Reading?

Sadly, I wasn’t able to post yesterday and thus missed out on my favorite meme It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey.

So, I’m posting today! ­čÖé

I’m still listening to the Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink whilst cruising around and going to work. While Zink does a good job of unfolding a tale that wraps its protagonist in an ancient prophecy, I have a BIG problem with this book – it’s narrator. Now, I don’t know how much say an author gets in the choosing of who is going to narrate his/her book or whether they just sell the rights and what’s done is done. But, authors, soon-to-be authors, and aspiring authors, if you are allowed to get ANY say in who the narrator of your audio book is here are a few suggestions – 1. Never get a Shakespearean stage actor to read the part of anyone who is under 35 and not King Lear 2. I don’t care if they are a movie star, chances are that while they can read, there will be something lost in translation and 3. Have an idea of what audio books YOU like, so you have an idea when you read a narrator’s bio whether or not they’ll be up for the challenge of translating your book into audio.

Zink’s book is read by an actress named Eliza Dushku who reads like she acts – flat and uninventive. The plot of the book is the only thing that keeps me going at this point as I’m taking my life into my hands every time I get in my car as I fear I may fall asleep just listening to Dushku narrate. While not completely monotone, she doesn’t change any of the characters voices or have a sense of how to stress her words in a way that befits the situation of the story. So word of advice, if you are going to read Prophecy of the Sisters, do just that – read it!

I know many of you are interested in hearing what I thought of Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey. It’s quite a hefty book, but fortunately reads at a pretty quick clip. It’s also an honor book for the Printz award. (More on that in a future post.) Aside from the fact that for the majority of the book I was trying to figure out what made this particular book worthy of the Printz award, I thought it was…interesting. The protagonist, Will Henry, is the apprentice to the monstrumologist, a brilliant man so wrapped up in his work that he often neglects and sacrifices both his and Will’s basic needs for the sake of his work. When a rare, grotesque monster is found and tragedy ensues, the monstrumologist must find a way to kill the beasts at whatever the cost. But what happens when the lines are blurred between humanity and monster? I would recommend this book simply because it was so different from any YA book I’ve ever read. However, I was ┬ásurprised by how gruesome the book was – and in great detail! I think the same effect could have been achieved without those gory details. If you have a weak stomach or a kid prone to nightmares, then this book is not for you!

    • Vicky
    • May 4th, 2010

    Don’t knock Faith! She’ll kick you in the…just like she did Buffy.

  1. I think I might stay away from The Monstrumologist. I like to read my books while eating meals, and don’t think that would be a good combination with this one.

    • In that case definitely stay away from Monstrumologist! Does not pair well with food.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

