It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Ah, yes, it’s another beautiful Monday! Here on Runner Sami the topic of today is – It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? sponsored by the ever-fabulous Sheila over atΒ One Person’s Journey Through a World of Books.

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting – Ok, here’s my disclaimer before I review this book…As an aspiring author I am impressed by those who are able to not only write a book, but find an agent and get published. Derting is a first time author AND she already has the second book in the series slated to be released in 2011 by HarperTeen. But I really didn’t like the Body Finder. My main problem was that it seemed like Derting couldn’t make up her mind as to whether she wanted it to be a thriller or a romance. I think that you can have both intermingled will electric results (the Twilight series is a prime example), but this book doesn’t quite hit the mark. Because of that vein throughout this novel, I was left frustrated by a girl who is more intent on a boy than the fact there was a serial killer going around murdering girls that she knows. I’m hoping that Derting can find that perfect balance in her next novel because I do think that it’s a great premise for a series and one that could be very successful.

Monstrumulogist by Rick Yancey – I have to admit that this book has been languishing in my TBR pile for a while now. I’m finally starting it and am really excited about the premise of the book. The book is centered around a doctor who studies monsters and his apprentice, Will Henry. Yancey has written several previous books for adults and this YA novel won him the 2010 Printz Award. I’ve included the link to Yancey’s website for Monstrumulogist as it has a great trailer for the book and this delicious line – “Critically acclaimed author Rick Yancey has written a gothic tour de force that explores the darkest heart of man and monster and asks the question: When does a man become the very thing he hunts?” I’ll post a full review when I’m finished the book.

Happy readings! πŸ™‚

    • Page
    • April 19th, 2010

    I have The Body Finder in my to read pile. I keep hearing mixed things on it so it hasn’t moved to the top of the list.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    • I feel like there are so many excellent books out there that it’s hard to start one that’s not gotten good reviews. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. These both sound like very interesting books. Thanks for stopping by earlier. Have a great week!

  2. I have been dying to read Monstrumologist. I had the opportunity to buy it for $2.50 at a Walden Books that was going out of business and didn’t buy it because I was trying to prove that I could go 6 months without buying a book (I only made it like one more month before I caved and bought something.) I can’t wait to find out what you think of it.

    • I’m only a few pages in, but already I’m hooked. That’s a great story – I laughed when I read that. I’ll post a review when I’m finished the book – thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. Monstrumologist is new to me but looks and sounds so interesting! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

  4. I have the Body Finder in my bag and am planning to start it this evening. I think the Yancey book looks great – I will have to check it out! Thanks for the comment – stop back! Check out the blog hop at Crazey for Books!

  1. April 26th, 2010

Leave a Reply

