It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s that time again! It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is sponsored by Sheila at One Person’s Journey Through A World of Books. Thanks, Sheila!

I have had a wonderful reading week. The weather was sunny and warm and after a cold, snowy winter it made for a very welcome change. I grabbed my dog, my book, and a blanket and spent hours relaxing in a local park relaxing and reading.

This week I’m reading:

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver – A wonderful children’s librarian with whom I work brought in her ARC of Before I Fall when I mentioned that our library didn’t have any copies of it in our system (the audacity!). The story revolves around Sam, a senior in high school who dies in a tragic car accident only to wake up and repeat that same day over and over. When the book opened I was nervous that the story would drag and present nothing new to what seemed from the opening pages to be about a typical high school “mean girl” who realizes it’s not nice to be so mean. And while the novel does fall along those lines, Oliver tells Sam’s story in such a refreshing light that I was engulfed in her progression throughout the book. A great debut by an author I’m sure we will see much more from in the future!

And listening to:

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green – Colin is a child prodigy who just graduated high school, was dumped by K19 (his most recent Katherine girlfriend), and jumps in a car with his best friend Hassein to embark on a road trip. The narrator does an excellent job transitioning between the nuances of each characters eccentricities and highlighting Colin’s socially impaired quirks that I have been enjoying listening to the book very much. I read Looking for Alaska a few years ago and after reading other recommendations for Green’s second novel, decided to pick it up. Given my success with Green’s literary voice, I’m looking forward to reading his latest YA novel – Paper Hearts.

On deck to read:

Going Bovine by Libba Bray

Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves

The Astonishing Adventures of FanBoy and Goth Girl by Barry Lyga

  1. Oh! FanBoy and Goth Girl, I’ve only briefly heard of these, but for some reason (maybe the name) they just sound so funny. Can’t wait to hear what you think! Also, wonderful short review of Before I Fall, can’t wait to read this one myself!

    Have a fabulous reading week!

  2. Ah, Bleeding Violet is reviewed at Color Online. Going to feature the author soon, too. Everyone is picking up Oliver. I need to find out why.

      • Samantha
      • March 23rd, 2010

      Thanks for the heads up on Bleeding Violet, Susan. I will head to the site and check it out!

  3. Before I Fall is on my to-read list. It sounds like a good one and Going Bovine is completely awesome.

      • Samantha
      • March 23rd, 2010

      Oh great! I’m excited to read it. 🙂

  4. Good books and sunny weather! My favorite! Have a wonderful week!

  5. Before I Fall do sounds good and pretty interesting. The idea of repeating a same day over and over again could kill me.I’ll definitely will get my hands on this one soon. Thanks for the suggestions!

  6. Isn’t it fantastic to be able to get out and read outside again? That’s one of my favorite parts of spring!

  7. Bleeding Violet sounds interesting. I hope you have had a good week.

  8. I’m looking forward to taking my reading outside…sigh.

    This is the 2nd reference I’ve seen to John Green’s book. I’ll have to look into him. And for Before I Fall – that was well put 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

