It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Sponsored by Sheila at One Person’s Journey Through a World of Books. Thanks, Sheila!

Ah, another Monday. I love Mondays because I get to check out what everyone else is reading and get some great book recommendations – fun, fun, fun! Another way to get book recommendations is working the circulation desk at the library. I have a pen and paper surreptitiously hidden under the check-out desk so that I can write down all the books that patrons are checking in and out that look interesting. It’s great! I’ve gotten some clutch reads both from the blogs on Mondays readings and through the library.

Here are a few that are sitting on the floor of my office waiting to be read:

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough

Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves

All look like delicious reads and future subjects of my Monday reading blogs!

This week I am still listening to The Nation by Terry Pratchett. I think that it’s one of the best, if not the best, audio book I’ve ever listened to. I can’t think of the narrator’s name right now, but he is amazing! He adds such a wonderful flavor to an already great novel that pushes the book to an even higher level of excellence.

I’m finished reading The Summoning by Kelly Armstrong during the week, devouring it in a couple of days. So of course I picked up the second in the series – The Awakening – and am on the waiting list for The Reckoning which is set to release April 6. These are the first three, of hopefully many more, in the Darkest Powers series.

I didn’t know until I started reading The Summoning and telling everyone how good it was that I learned that Armstrong is the well-loved author of the Otherworld series. From what I read the two series have parallels in that they both deal with strong female protagonists and center around individuals with supernatural powers. Chloe is the protagonist the Darkest Powers series and when she starts seeing ghosts, she gets thrown into an institution. At first she thinks she’s supposed to be finding a cure for her delusions but as she spends more time at the institution Chloe uncovers many more mysteries that lead her to believe her visions might be real. It’s a gripping first novel that lays a gleaming path of tension and intrigue all the way to the second in the series.

  1. The Nation sounds very interesting. I hope you have a great week of reading!

  2. I’ve heard about Wicked Lovely – going to have to check it out.

    Here is my Monday! http://thelostentwife.net/2010/03/14/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-12/

  3. I love all the books you mentioned that are on the floor of your office! Cant wait to read your reviews. The Summoning looks fantastic too! Have a wonderful week!

  4. I have also heard about Wicked Lovely, but haven’t read it yet. I hope you enjoy your books and thanks for the comment on my blog!

  5. kelly armstrong sounds good. i think i’ve heard about this books before. thanks for telling me while visiting my site, it is such a big help. and the review is nice.thnks!

  6. The Summoning sounds very good. I must add this to my list, and Wicked Lovely is on that list as well. It’s a long list!

  7. Thanks for all the replies! I hope you all have a great week! 🙂

  8. Hi Sami, just wanted to let you know that you have an award waiting for you here. 🙂

  9. You have described above my need it, want it, got it check list! Off to read your Bleeding Violet review; I’ve seen a mixed bag for that book…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

