When Enough is Enough

As many of you know, I’m in the editing stage of my novel. Yay! My goal is to finish a chunk (chunk defined as how much time I have in the day to spend on the novel) a day.

While’s it’s invigorating to see page after page getting polished, it can still get really overwhelming too! I get in my head and over analyze EVERYTHING! I know it gets bad when I’m fretting over whether there should be a hyphen or a comma or…I’llnevergetthisfinishedsowhyevenbother. Very counterproductive. I know other writers go through this process and if writing were easy then everyone would be doing it, but I need some tricks, tips, advice to push through and finish my editing.

I was talking about the process to a friend during one moment of frustration. I likened the process of writing, editing, writing, revising, getting second-third-fourth opinions, to watching my favorite movie. I love this movie, but when I analyze the movie and watch it day after day it’s hard to find that excitement I had when I saw the movie for the first time.

Writers that I know who are successful have developed ways to push through those tougher times when that cynical voice is louder than the encouraging one. If you have something that you do that helps you believe in your skills and talents as a writer, I would love to hear about them!

Until then, Edit on! 🙂

  1. I am busy editing, too. It’s not fun. I wish I had some advice to give you, but I don’t. My incentive is that I want to be done with editing so that I can work on something else, well that and I actually have a deadline for the edits.

    • Thanks, Alissa 🙂 I agree being finishing with editing is GREAT incentive.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

