It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey Through a World of Books – thanks, Sheila!

I can’t believe I haven’t posted since last Monday! Last week is a blur of work and editing and reading. Loved it, but time slipped by fast! I was able to drive to NYC with some friends to see the Tim Burton exhibit at the MoMA.  Every Friday is FREE – if you’re looking for something fun to do on a Friday night but don’t want to shell out the $20 ticket fee – but be careful if you want to see one of the special exhibits because although those are including in the free ticket, they are often “sold out” quickly. Fortunately, my girlfriend is a genius and joined the MoMA as a member right before we went. This entitled all four of our group to not only get free tickets but gain entry to the already sold out Tim Burton exhibit! It was fantastic!!! It was an art timeline of Burton’s works from the most obscure earlier films to films like Nightmare Before Christmas and Edward Scissorhands. His art was wonderful – dark and whimsical at the same time.

I’ve been busy reading too. Here’s what I’m reading now:

Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan – Brennan is able to capture the in-betweens of good v evil creating characters that are very flawed and very relatable. I found myself rooting for the virtually emotionless “protagonist” because of his love for his brother and his willingness to sacrifice anything for him.

The Nation by Terry Pratchett – I am listening to this as a book on cd and am finding myself making excuses to drive anywhere because of it. Pratchett has unique way of weaving together satire with a bold story of human strengths and weaknesses. His tongue in cheek quips make me laugh out loud (probably making me look crazy to other drivers) while still maintaining the somberness of a scene. Other librarians have recommended Pratchett to me before, as the only other book of his I read was a brilliant collaboration between him and Neil Gaiman called Good Omens, and I’m glad I chose this book to keep me company on my travels.

  1. I loved Good Omens so I might have to pick up The Nation!

    The Demon’s Lexicon looks really good too! I am going to add that one to my must read list 🙂

  2. When I am listening to a great audio book I look for reasons to get in the car too! Enjoy.

    • Samantha
    • March 8th, 2010

    Felicia- I think you’ll like both those books-enjoy!
    Nise’ – Thanks! 🙂

  3. I hope you are enjoying the Nation. Sounds like it would be good!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

