It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s time for  – It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? sponsored by Sheila in her blog One Person’s Journey Through a World of Books. Thanks, Sheila!

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl – I’m about three fourths of the way through this well crafted novel and am thoroughly enjoying it thus far. It centers around a boy named Ethan in high school who’s life in a small southern town is mundane until a new girl moves into it. Mystery surrounds this girl, Lena, who attracts Ethan’s attention and draws him into an adventure he never dreamed existed. The book was reviewed and recommended by Alissa in her blog Alissa Grosso – Thanks! It’s a wonderful read for anyone who loves to get lost in a tale of passion and intrigue. 🙂

Little Brother by Cory Doctrow– Another interesting book blogged about by Alissa. It starts with the bombing of the Brooklyn Bridge in San Francisco by a group of terrorists. Beginning fast paced action scenes are used to catch the reader’s attention and pull you into the story. I’m listened to this book on cd and I think that something is lost between reading it myself and having it read to me. I’m only a little over halfway finished and the story line is mired in tech jargon and the author’s statements against BIG GOVERNMENT. Maybe this wouldn’t come across as much if I were reading it on my own as I know a lot of people who loved this book and highly recommended it.

Che: A Graphic Biography by Sid Jacobson and Ernie Colon – Yet another wonderful graphic novel! I didn’t know much about Che and decided this was a great way to learn about the man behind the revolutions. The illustrations are colorful and captivating and the writing contains both narrative and dialogue that help to keep the story moving at a brisk pace. Reading about history has never been this fun!

  1. Beautiful Creatures sounds like a great read — have a good week of reading.

  2. Thanks for the shout outs! Little Brother was one I listened to, but I’ve never tried switching back and forth between reading and listening. The graphic Che biography intrigues me. I remember a few years ago wanting to read more about him, but the library only had a Spanish book. I tried, but my 4 years of high school Spanish couldn’t get me through that book.

  3. Oh I am envious that you are in Beautiful Creatures! This is one I have yet to pick up – but I will. I need a weekend with no commitments to dive into this book!

    Enjoy!

  4. Little Brother sound right up my alley. I love fast-paced adventures. Thanks for sharing and have a great week.

  5. I’m currently reading several books at the moment, and this is one of them…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

