Running and Reading

Just like I love to keep my body fit I also want to keep my mind fit. I’m an avid reader and appreciate literature across many genres. I figure that I might as well enter J. Kaye’s 100+ Reading Challenge since I’ll be reading anyway. I’ve actually been keeping track of the books I’ve read since 7th grade after my mom told me that my great-grandmother kept a list of her reads as well. It’s a great reference to be able to return to when I forget how I liked a book (I make a note of what I thought of the book as well as the # of pages) or whether I have already read the book as I sometimes lose track. šŸ™‚

I’ll be updating this post as I read through my 100 books, so check back for my latest reads. Here are the few I have read since the start of 2010…

1. Halfway to Heaven by Mark Obmascik – A memoir of sorts about a man’s quest to conquer all of Colorado’s mountains over 14,000 ft – also known as the Fourteeners. A great read that shows a father’s determination to get fit, be a good father and husband, and document his sometimes harrowing journey.

2. Grave Surprise by Charlaine Harris – I started reading Harris’s Grave series because I really liked the mysteries she wrote prior to her Dead series that inspired the HBO series True Blood. While I love True Blood, I wasn’t a fan of the series that inspired it. These novels are entertaining, but after the third one – below, An Ice Cold Grave – I lost interest.

3. An Ice Cold Grave by Charlaine Harris – see above

4. Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett – I listened to this on CD and it was wonderful! I was already a big fan of Gaiman’s works and had heard good things about Pratchett’s. Their combined wit and humor made this satirical story of the apocalypse very entertaining to listen to and made my drive to work fly by. I highly recommend it.

5. Tales of Death & Dementia by Edgar Alan Poe, Illustrated by Gris Grimly – Stark illustrations of blacks and reds are the perfect accompaniment to Poe’s writings. Grimly illustrates four of Poe’s short stories, each with amazing, and sometimes grisly, details. I did find it in the YA section of the library, so it’s well done without being too gory or intense.

    • Tori
    • February 3rd, 2010

    Is this just today’s list or…..?

  1. Welcome to the 100+ Reading Challenge of 2010. Iā€™m so excited to get this new year underway. I think there are going to be lots of great books published this year.

    Have fun!

    • Thanks for setting up the challenge, J. Kaye! I sure hope a lot of great books are published this year! šŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

